Lelievre Paris, expertise born from the synergy of several professions… from design to weaving. Expertise that we are proud of, and that guarantees the excellence of our collections.

A Creative Studio

The Creative Studio, led by Artistic Director Emilie Paralitici, infuses designs and fabrics with a bold, meticulous quality and complete freedom of inspiration… None of the Lelièvre collections are swayed by fashion trends: all the creative input comes straight from the studio. Our style has a pure character to allow the designs to speak for themselves, the colours, the materials, the senses.

The fabrics in the Lelièvre Collection are never obvious but follow their own path: inspired by art, travel, history, French heritage and other lands… Even if design is simple - and it may well be - the fabric always conveys an emotion.

Original weaving looms

Lelièvre Paris remains one of the rare textile companies that have their own weaving mill. Located in the Loire near Lyon and equipped with stunning original weaving looms, the Lelièvre workshops produce exceptional silk fabric collections with a highly-developed sampling system.

Canuts
Janin

This atelier, in the inner suburbs of Lyon and only a short walk from La Croix-Rousse, has under one roof a collection of hand-looms which offer a unique savoir-faire. A team of artisan weavers, wedded to their craft, can fulfil all manner of special silk orders for classic properties, including chateaux and museums: lampas brocades, chiselled velvets, silk brocades with gold and silver threads. All of these fabrics are produced by means of the Jacquard system, installed and perfected in the manufacturing ateliers by 1806. This manual weaving process proceeds at the rate of anything between a few centimetres to several metres per day, depending on the complexity of the work.

Silk loom
Panissières

The latest generation of machine looms of Lelievre Paris can reproduce the majority of either ancient designs or create contemporary collections with incomparable quality, making them available to a much wider public.The savoir-faire can fulfil all manner of special silk orders lampas brocades, chiselled velvets,silk brocades…

Craftsmen

Our textile partners have a wealth of experience in fabric production. Fabric experts and craftsmen with a unique set of skills…

In machine weaving:

Textile designers

Translate the drawing (archive) or the pattern of a fabric into a language read by the electronic jacquard machine, set the weave, taking into account the number of threads, the number of colours to be used, the repetition of the pattern etc.

Winders

Prepares the bobbins of dyed yarn before they are put onto the loom or used for the warp

Warpers

Prepare the warp before it is placed on the loom. Making sure the correct number of threads of the right length are set up in parallel…

Knotters

Place the warp on the loom. Each warp thread is knotted to the previous warp. If there are 12,000 threads, there are 12,000 knots…

Loom weavers (plain or jacquard)

Supervise and monitor the smooth progress of the weaving, act on stoppages, breakages, anomalies, etc…

Production supervisor

Monitors the quality of all pieces of fabric leaving the loom, checking, minor repairs, etc.

Technician (textile mechanic)

Adjustment of weaving machines and other machines for each step of production - stopping, starting, replacing parts, etc. - The technician starts the weaving.

Production engineer

Supervises manufacturing, technical solutions and steps to be taken for special orders, tests, preservation of archives and gives layout instructions.

In hand weaving:

Canuts

They take care of the assembly and adaptation of the loom to each new order, placing the warp threads, or bobbins for jacquard velvets. They manually insert all the frames into the weave, and manually manoeuvre the jacquard mechanism. They constantly check the pattern so that it stays the same over the entire length of the production.

roduction engineer

Supervises manufacturing, technical solutions and steps to be taken for special orders, tests and preservation of archives.

Lelievre Paris, un savoir-faire né de la complémentarité de nombreux métiers… de la création au tissage. Un savoir-faire dont nous sommes fiers, et qui garantit l’excellence de nos collections.

Un studio de création

Le Studio de Création, sous la houlette d’Emilie Paralitici, directrice artistique, fait souffler un vent d'audace et de précision sur les créations et les tissus dans une liberté totale d'inspiration… Aucune des collections Lelièvre n'est soufflée par une agence tendance : toute la créativité de la maison vient du studio. Notre style a un caractère épuré pour laisser la part belle aux créations, aux couleurs, aux matières, aux sens.

Les tissus de la Collection Lelièvre ne tombent jamais dans l'évidence mais suivent leurs propres signaux : inspirations de l'art, du voyage, de l'histoire, du patrimoine français et d'ailleurs… Si le dessin est simple - il peut l'être -, le tissus lui transmet toujours une émotion.

Des ateliers de fabrication

Les ateliers de fabrication sont situés dans la région de Lyon. Ils regroupent toutes les techniques de tissage de soierie d’ameublement, depuis les métiers à bras jusqu’aux machines les plus modernes. Ils permettent à Lelièvre aussi de réaliser sur commande des créations contemporaines ainsi que des rééditions à partir de documents ou d’archives.

Atelier de canuts
Janin

Cet atelier est l’un des derniers ateliers de canuts existants, permettant de reproduire à l’identique des documents originaux. Cet atelier dispose de 9 métiers à bras, actionnés par des canuts, et tisse les qualités les plus prestigieuses ne pouvant être réalisées sur métier mécanique : lampas brochés, velours à dessin aux poils de soie ciselés à la main, brocarts aux fils d’or ou d’argent. Fabrication particulièrement minutieuse, ce tissage manuel avance de quelques centimètres par jour. Tous ces tissus sont réalisés avec la mécanique Jacquard, mise au point en 1806 dans les ateliers de la Manufacture Tassinari & Chatel.

Métiers à soie
Panissières

L’atelier mécanique de Lelièvre Paris, situé à Panissières dans la Loire, permet de reproduire la plupart des modèles anciens ou de créer les collections contemporaines, avec une qualité incomparable, destinés à un plus large public. Ce savoir-faire permet notamment d’entretenir un catalogue de 700 références de soieries toutes disponibles en stock. Toutes les spécialités de la soierie y sont représentées : damas, lampas, brocatelles, velours ciselés, droguets, satins et taffetas.

Des hommes et des gestes

Nos collaborateurs textiles sont polyvalents dans la production des étoffes. Experts et artisans textile, ils déclinent un savoir-faire unique…

Dans les métiers du tissage :

Graphiste textile

Traduire le dessin (archive) ou le motif d’un tissu dans un langage lu par la mécanique jacquard électronique, avec la mise en place des armures, la prise en compte du nombre de fil, le nombre de couleurs à utiliser, de la répétition du motif…

Dévideuse – dévideur

Prépare les bobines de fil teint avant leur mise au métier ou leur mise à l’ourdissage

Les ourdisseurs / ourdisseuses

Préparent la chaine avant sa mise en place sur le métier à tisser. Mettent tous les fils en parallèle, avec le bon nombre de fils, la longueur voulue…

Les noueurs – noueuses

Mettent en place la chaine sur le métier à tisser. Chaque fil de chaine va être noué sur une chaine précédente. S’il y a 12 000 fils, il y a 12 000 noeuds…

Tisseurs – tisseuse sur métier (uni ou jacquard)

Surveillent et contrôlent le bon déroulement du tissage, interviennent en cas d’arrêt, de casse, d’anomalie…

Contrôleur(se) de fabrication

Contrôle la qualité de toutes les pièces de tissus en sortie de métier, vérification, petites réparations…

Gareur – gareuse (mécanicien textile)

Réglage des machines à tisser et des autres machines pour chaque fabrication – arrêt, mise en route, remplacement des pièces… - C’est lui qui lance le tissage.

Ingénieur technicien de fabrication

Supervise la fabrication, les solutions techniques et les moyens à mettre en oeuvre pour des commandes spéciales, les essais, la conservation des archives et donne les instructions des mises en carte.

Dans les métiers du tissage à bras :

Les canuts ou les canuses

S’occupent du montage, de l’adaptation du métier à chaque nouvelle commande, mise en place des fils de chaine, ou des bobines pour les velours jacquard.
Il va insérer manuellement toutes les trames dans la chaine, et va manoeuvrer manuellement la mécanique jacquard. Elles vérifient en permanence le raccord du motif afin que celui reste régulier sur toute la longueur de la production.

Ingénieur technicien de fabrication

Supervise la fabrication, les solutions techniques et les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour des commandes spéciales, les essais, la conservation des archives.